Amt für Touristik, Veranstaltungsmanagement und Städtepartnerschaften
55411 Bingen am Rhein
Phone: 06721 184-205 / -206
Fax: 06721 184-214
MONASTERY RUINS AT DISIBODENBERG Hildegard of Bingen
At 14 years old, Hildegard of Bingen moved into the nun‘s convent in the monastery at Disibodenberg where she received her education and in 1141, started to write her first theological work „Scivias – Know the Ways of the Lord“. The ruins are located in charming surroundings between the rivers Glan and Nahe. They can be found at the top of the hill, embedded into the romantic park created by the famous garden and landscape architect Johann Metzger of Heidelberg in the middle of the 19th century. On a tour through the monastery ruins its dimensions can still be easily seen.